Allen, Shelley, Rocci, Sharp and Scherf earn Opals call up

Five Victorians headline the Opals team heading to the FIBA Women’s Asia Cup next month.

Olympian Rebecca Allen alongside Jaz Shelley, Maddie Rocci, Alex Sharp and Lauren Scherf will don the green and gold for the Asia Cup campaign, set take place in Amman, Jordan from 27 September to 3 October.

Victorian also fills out the reserves spots with Jade Melbourne and Abbey Wehrung in line for a call-up if the likes of Allen and fellow WNBA star Sami Whitcomb are unable to attend due to WNBA finals commitments. Due to travel restrictions and quarantine requirements a number of players have not made themselves available for selection for Asia Cup.

The team will be led by Head Coach Paul Gorris and Assistant Coach Kristen Veal, the current Women’s Centre of Excellence Head Coach.

“The team we have selected for Asia Cup brings together youth and experience with players from around the world,” Gorris said.

“It’s great to have Sami Whitcomb and Bec Allen commit (depending on WNBA finals), their experience and leadership playing at a high level in the WNBA will help this young group. It’s an excellent opportunity to evaluate newcomers like Alex Sharp and Jaz Shelley who is currently in the USA attending college.”

“It’s a great reward for some of the stellar play in recent WNBL seasons for the likes of Nicholson, Rocci and Garbin – we have some young bigs and the experience they will gain from this will help the Opals in the future in preparation and readiness for the World Cup.”

“I am confident we have the balance of speed, defence and grit for us to be competitive next month.”

Australia have drawn China, Chinese Taipei and the Philippines in Group B.

Australia’s opening match is against Chinese Taipei on September.

The full schedule of games is available via the link:




Sami Whitcomb*

New York Liberty, USA

Rebecca Allen

New York Liberty, USA/ Valencia, Spain

Maddison Rocci

Southside Flyers

Jazmin Shelley

University of Nebraska, USA

Tiana Mangakahia

Northside Wizards, QLD /Dynamo, Russia

Lauren Nicholson

JCU Townsville Fire

Kristy Wallace

Melbourne Tigers

Alexandra Sharp

Perth Lynx

Darcee Garbin

Perth Lynx

Keely Froling

Bryden Lawyers Sydney Uni Flames

Zitina Aokuso

JCU Townsville Fire

Lauren Scherf

Perth Lynx

*Restricted Player  Sami Whitcomb
Abbey Wehrung – Adelaide Lightning
Jade Melbourne – Canberra Capitals

other headlines:
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News