Three Victorians added to Centre of Excellence 2019 class

THREE more Victorians have earned scholarships to the Basketball Australia Centre of Excellence.

Basketball Australia announced on Wednesday the addition of Jade Melbourne, Olivia Pollerd and Paige Price to the COE ranks in 2019 on the back of strong form throughout national, state and association duties.

Melbourne, Pollerd and Price have been exceptional throughout their time in Victorian basketball – having represented Victoria Country at national championships and moved into higher duties through national teams well as joining WNBL squads as development players.

Starting in January next year, Pollerd, Melbourne and Price will join fellow incoming scholarship holder Millie Prior (NSW) at the COE, taking the number of Victorian female scholarship holders to eight in 2019.

‘Two of the new athletes in Jade and Olivia were members of this year’s Sapphires campaign, while Millie and Paige have been named in an exciting Australian U15 team to compete at the FIBA Oceania Qualifiers in December in Papua New Guinea,” Centre of Excellence Women’s Program Head Coach Kristen Veal said. “With all incoming athletes having already had green and gold experience through either international tournaments or development camps, this promises to be a very exciting crop of elite level talent to develop over the coming years as they strive for further national representation.”

‘These talented individuals are highly motivated, and this COE opportunity is a direct reflection of the work both they and their coaches and support networks have done within their respective High Performance programs.”

The four incoming athletes will join a group of nine returning COE/NBA GA scholarship holders including Victorian representatives Kobe King-Hawea, Agnes Emma-Nnopu, Gemma Potter, Lily Scanlon and Sara-Rose Smith.



Ashlee Hannan (QLD)
Adelaide Fuller (QLD)
Kelsey Rees (SA)
Isabel Palmer (NSW)
Millie Prior (NSW)
Kobe King-Hawea (VIC) – scholarship provided by NBA Global Academy
Agnes Emma-Nnopu (VIC)
Gemma Potter (VIC)
Lily Scanlon (VIC)
Sara-Rose Smith (VIC)
Olivia Pollerd (VIC)
Jade Melbourne (VIC)
Paige Price (VIC)



other headlines:
u20 victoria announcement
Featured News
teisha shadwell
General News
casey 1
Featured News
General News
helping hoops
Featured News