Awards announced at Basketball Victoria Awards Dinner

CELEBRATING our best and brightest across 2016 at Monday night’s Awards Dinner, Basketball Victoria Awards Dinner proudly announced its 2016 award winners at Merrimu Receptions.

Winning her fourth Betty Watson Medal, Victorian basketball legend Penny Taylor was celebrated once again as our peak female athlete of the year. She was selected for her exceptional efforts at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games, in the WNBA with the Phoenix Mercury and the conclusion of her storied basketball career as of October.

Fellow Olympic star David Andersen was awarded the Allan Hughes Medal for his 2016 campaign with the Boomers and also returning home to star for Melbourne United in the National Basketball League (NBL).

Charles Ryan Wheelchair Basketball Athlete of the Year was awarded to Paralympian Josh Allison, Luke Eldridge received the Basketball Athlete of the Year with an Intellectual Disability while junior stars Ezi Magbegor – current under-17 world champion and tournament MVP – and Paul Tsapatolis earned their respective Female and Male Junior Player of the Year awards.

Dandenong Basketball Association was crowned our Basketball Association of the Year for their exceptional work from the grassroots levels all the way up to their WNBL, SEABL and BIG V Victorian Youth Championship elite teams. Dandenong was also named our Junior Program of the Year award winner to cap off a brilliant year for the Rangers in all facets of basketball and business administration.

McKinnon’s Alison Cody received the Jack Carter Memorial Award for her tireless work at McKinnon Basketball Association while David Phillips received the Allan Ashe Memorial Award for his efforts serving Knox Basketball for nearly 15 years in various roles.

Basketball Victoria CEO Nick Honey congratulated all the nominees and award winners for creating a thriving environment on and off the court within the Victorian basketball community.

“2016 was a phenomenal year in Victoria and for Victorians in all aspects of the basketball world,” Honey said. “Victorian teams excelled at national championships, our associations have shone on the home front through strong administration, and our community continues to thrive thanks to the amazing work put in by our players, coaches, referees, volunteers and basketball families across the state.

“From evergreen legends like Penny Taylor and David Andersen through to our next generation in Ezi Magbegor and Paul Tsapatolis, Victorian players have showed they are world-calibre and ready to take on the best in Australia and beyond, and we’re proud to honour their efforts on this occasion.“Special congratulations go out to our service award recipients – as their tireless work over decades shows just how passionate and committed our community is towards enhancing the game at home.”

Basketball Victoria would like to congratulate our winners and thank everyone who nominated for the awards in 2016.


Jack Carter Memorial Award

Alison Cody


Allan Ashe Memorial Award

David Phillips


Basketball Association of the Year



Inclusive Basketball Association of the Year



Eddie Crouch Award – Referee Program of the Year



Junior Program of the Year



Megan tweet

Media Coverage of the Year

Megan Hustwaite – Leader Newspapers


Photograph of the Year

Stuart Milligan

Story of the Year 

Roy Ward – The Age/Fairfax


Molten Coach of the Year

Samantha Woosnam


Wally Pattison Award – Technical Official of the Year

Sarah Carey


Charles Ryan Wheelchair Basketball Athlete of the Year

Josh Allison


Basketball Athlete of the Year with an Intellectual Disability

Luke Eldridge


Junior Player of the Year – Male

Paul Tsapatolis


Junior Player of the Year – Female

Ezi Magbegor


Betty Watson Medal

Penny Taylor


Allan Hughes Medal

David Andersen


Basketball Victoria Life Member Inductees

Ron Dawson

Jack Terrill

Elaine Hardwick

Faye Campbell

Supporting my biggest supporter ???? #dad #bvawards

A post shared by Stephanie Phillips (@stephhphillips) on

Diamond – 50 Year Service Awards

Ray Hunt

David Watson

Lew Christopher

Gail Ralph

Howard Dandy


Gold – 35 Year Service Awards

Garry Furman

Daryl McShanag

John Michell

Pat Vaughn

Joy Mundy

Greg McCoy

Geoff Weedon

Tammy Dudley

Merilyn Pengelly

Patricia McLean

Alan Simmins

Cedric Noter

Tracey Le Maitre

Rino Zancan


Silver – 25 Year Service Awards

Leigh Lockett

Brett Rolfe

Bruce Palmer

Ash Mason

Alan Lee

Shirley Drummond

Peter Newton

Lesley Thomas

Sam Moriera

Mark George

Cathy Hawkins

Gaye Punton

Roslyn Aumann

Adrianne Morris

Sam Daniels

Alan Barrett

Theo Gessas

John D’Amore

Mary McShanag

Beverley Hardiman

Ken Pengelly

Ted Stammers

Chris Jannese

Bronze – 15 Year Service Awards

Blake Chaplin
Dave Duckworth
Warren Greene
Chris Morris
Steve Morris
David White
Joshua Murnane
Matt Taliana
Adrian Scott
Robert Lees
Lisa Petrie
Melissa McKay
Matthew Cervelli
Andrew Goldfinch
Deb Kruger

Merle Watkins
Jason Geritz
Daniel Hayman
Geoff Wood
Warren Winter
Tony Oliver
Gary McAdam
Michelle Gow
Bradley Lane
Rocco Dragonetti
Catherine Devine
Julie Grove
Jason Harris
Rachel Wallace
Anthony Bearzatto

Desmond Buchan
Trevor Lee
Symon Mountford
Peter Saunders
Kerry Brincat
Callan Frost
Russell Martin
David McFarlane
Dean Andrews
Justin Hamilton
Jesse Arnold
Glenn Colwell
Cindy Banjanin
Adam Crowe
Lauren Broderick

Doug Connane
Alicia Vengust
Ray Horvath
Gai Smith
Liz Grawe
David Meredith
Gerard Molan
Gloria Staios
D’Wayne Hogan
Paula Hogan
Jenni Harris
Maurice Brodie
David Straughair
Kim Round

other headlines:
Deng Dut
Featured News
Featured News
Izzy Martin
Featured News
Featured News
Agnes Emma-Nnopu
Featured News
vic girls
Featured News