Victoria 2018 state teams coaches and staff announced

PREPARATIONS for our 2018 #TeamVic campaigns have begun with Basketball Victoria announcing the 2018 state team coaches and staff.

With the assistance of well-respected national and international coaches Jamie O’Loughlin and Brendan Joyce, we have assembled the staff for 12 teams representing Victoria, Victoria Country or Victoria Metropolitan at the 2018 Australian Junior Championships.

New additions to the Victorian under-20 coaching panel include head coaches Katrina Hibbert (Victoria under-20 women) and Chris Anstey (Victoria under-20 men), Joel Anderson (Victoria Country under-16 boys) and Reece Potter (Victoria Metropolitan under-18 women).

Chris Anstey was part of our under-18 Victoria Metropolitan men’s national championship winning coaching line-up in 2017. His impressive playing resume includes first round selection in the 1997 NBA draft, two NBL MVPs, three NBL championships and representing Australia twice at the Olympic Games as well as coaching for three seasons in the NBL with the Melbourne Tigers.

Katrina Hibbert – a decorated Australian Opal, WNBL MVP, Lousiana State University legend, WNBA Seattle Storm draft pick in 2000  and Commonwealth Games gold medallist – has been an integral part of Victorian basketball for the last 20 years and is another elite example of a Victorian player transitioning seamlessly into becoming a Victorian coach.

Following on from their successful state team campaigns in 2017 will be national championship winning coaches Gerard Hillier (Victoria Country under-18 women), Darren Perry (under-18 Victoria Metropolitan men), Sam Thornton (Victoria Metropolitan under-16 girls), Glen Jordan (Victoria Ivor Burge Men) and Simon Robinson (Victoria Ivor Burge Women). Also returning to the Victorian coaching ranks will be Dom Linossier (Victoria Metropolitan under-16 boys).

Basketball Victoria Operations Manager Grant Wallace said the standard of coaching and staff appointments in 2018 are incredible and will make Victorian teams hard to beat.

“The level of coaching and support available for our elite Victorian junior athletes in 2018 is extremely impressive,” Wallace said. “We’re lucky enough to have under-18 and under-16 national championship winning coaches – Gerard Hillier, Darren Perry and Sam Thornton – return to our coaching ranks in 2018 as well as our two successful Victoria Ivor Burge coaches Simon Robinson and Glen Jordan.

“While we’ve retained plenty of proven coaching talent in our teams, it is just as pleasing to give new head coaching opportunities to two Victorian basketball luminaries in Katrina Hibbert with the U20 Women and Chris Anstey with the U20 Men, while U17 National Women’s Assistant Coach Reece Potter will lead the U18 Metropolitan Women.

“In 2018 we have also provided an opportunity to Joel Anderson in recognition for his development in our High Performance Country coaching pathway as he will lead the U16 Country Men, highlighting our commitment to develop the next generation of coaches alongside our elite junior rosters.”

Wallace wanted to acknowledge Victorian basketball coaching icons Jamie O’Loughlin and Brendan Joyce for their assistance in putting together the #TeamVic coaching lists.

“The difficult selection process was eased with the valued professional direction and input from two of the best credentialed High Performance coaches in Australia,” Wallace said. “Jamie O’Loughlin helped out extensively with the Country coaching selections and Victorian legend Brendan Joyce assisting with the Metropolitan appointments – we sincerely thank both gentlemen for their invaluable time, and passion for all things Victorian basketball.”

The time and effort all applicants put in to join the #TeamVic ranks was impressive and Wallace wanted to thank everyone who put their hand up for state team duties.

“Finally, we want to thank all the coaches and staff who applied for Basketball Victoria state team positions – the calibre of coaching and mentoring on offer in Victoria is exceptional and continues to improve in quality every year,” Wallace said.

The first national championship destination has been announced this week with the Under-20 and Ivor Burge Championships set to be held in Gosford, NSW from 7-11 February.

For more information on state team announcements and #TeamVic match reports, highlights and galleries – head across to our Facebook page throughout every Championship.




U20 Victoria Women
Head Coach Katrina Hibbert Eltham
Assistant Coach Hannah Lowe Hawthorn
Assistant Coach Simon Giovannoni Sandringham
Team Manager Fiona Mortimer
Selector Tegan Cunningham Waverley
Mentor Dee Butler Diamond Valley
U20 Victoria Men
Head Coach Chris Anstey Dandenong
Assistant Coach John White Dandenong
Assistant Coach Shane McDonald Nunawading
Team Manager Shelley Reynolds
Selector Nick Abdicevic Melbourne
Mentor Ian Stacker
Ivor Burge Victoria Women
Head Coach Simon Robinson Collingwood
Assistant Coach Joseph Borg Diamond Valley
Assistant Coach Justin May Hawthorn
Team Manager Kerryn O’Donnell
Development Coach Maddison Borg Diamond Valley
Mentor Justin Schueller
Ivor Burge Victoria Men
Head Coach Glen Jordan Corio Bay
Assistant Coach Ryan Holloway Warrandyte
Assistant Coach Jeff Shute Eltham
Team Manager TBC
Mentor Justin Schueller
U18 Victoria Country Women
Head Coach Gerard Hillier Southern Peninsula
Assistant Coach Sharon Denham Swan Hill
Assistant Coach Rob Baker Ballarat
Team Manager Wendy Campbell
Mentor Jamie O’Loughlin Geelong / Cairns
U18 Victoria Metro Women
Head Coach Reece Potter Werribee
Assistant Coach Lloyd Klaman Hawthorn
Assistant Coach Jess May Bulleen
Team Manager Lisa Page
Selector Al McAughtry Diamond Valley
Mentor Brendan Joyce Sandringham
U18 Victoria Country Men
Head Coach Lucas Allen Southern Peninsula
Assistant Coach Brad Crole Dandenong
Assistant Coach Ben White Southern Peninsula
Team Manager Joshua Waight
Mentor Dean Vickerman Melbourne United
U18 Victoria Metro Men
Head Coach Darren Perry Dandenong
Assistant Coach Daniel Smith Eltham
Assistant Coach David Peters Melbourne
Team Manager Mark Sainsbery
Selector Nick Mihai Dandenong
Mentor Mike Kelly Melbourne United
U16 Victoria Country Women
Head Coach Joe Turner Bendigo
Assistant Coach Emma Henry Wodonga
Assistant Coach Ainslie Howard Corio Bay
Team Manager Paige Hockley
Mentor Simon Pritchard Bendigo
U16 Victoria Metro Women
Head Coach Samantha Thornton Bulleen
Assistant Coach Simon Hickey Diamond Valley
Assistant Coach Jacqui O’Neill Diamond Valley
Team Manager Kate Butler
Selector Michael Dimmatina Hawthorn
Mentor Guy Molloy Melbourne Boomers
U16 Victoria Country Men
Head Coach Joel Anderson Corio Bay
Associate Head Coach Mike McHugh Dandenong
Assistant Coach Thomas Thorn Bendigo
Team Manager Wayne Bird
Mentor Mike McHugh Dandenong
U16 Victoria Metro Men
Head Coach Dom Linossier Knox
Assistant Coach Ash Arnott Dandenong
Assistant Coach Jack Fleming Diamond Valley
Team Manager Dwayne Campbell
Selector Steven Lunardon Bulleen
Mentor Simon Mitchell Melbourne United
other headlines:
Featured News
Featured News
bounce dementia
Featured News
Featured News
Isabel Martin and Teisha Shadwell make Under-25 Australian Devils
Featured News